2015 Gemmell Legend awards - the winners!

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

The winners of the 2015 David Gemmell Legend awards for Fantasy were announced earlier this week (with a total of 36 759 votes).  A couple of weeks ago, I posted my picks (in bold and italic) and my predictions (underlined). It seems that I was way off with a score of 0 out of 3. I'm not really surprised by Sanderson's win for the Legend even if I thought that Lawrence was gaining in popularity and delivered a solid novel. My biggest surprise came from Staveley's win. That's nice. What do you think?


Legend Award
(Best novel)

Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie (HarperCollins)
Valour by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence (HarperCollins)
The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks (Orbit)


Morningstar Award
(Best debut novel)

The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)

Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley (Angry Robot)
The Godless by Ben Peek (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
Age of Iron by Angus Watson (Orbit)


Ravenheart Award
(Best cover art)

Sam Green for Words of Radiance (written by Brandon Sanderson)

Laura Brett for The Slow Regard of Silent Things (written by Patrick Rothfuss)
Mike Bryan for Half a King (written by Joe Abercrombie)
Jason Chan for Prince of Fools (written by Mark Lawrence)
Jackie Morris for The Fool’s Assassin (writtern by Robin Hobb)


Previous winners:

Legend award - Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
Morningstar award - Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan
Ravensheart award -Jason Chan for the cover of Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Legend award - Brent Weeks for The Blinding Knife
Morningstar award - John Gwynne for Malice
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet and Dave Senior for the cover of Red Country (written by Joe Abercrombie)

Legend award - Patrick Rothfuss for The Wise Man's Fear
Morningstar award - Helen Lowe for Heir of Night
Ravensheart award - Raymond Swanland for Blood of Aenarion (written by William King)

Legend award -Brandon Sanderson for The Way of Kings
Morningstar award - Darius Hinks for Warrior Priest
Ravensheart award - Olof Erla Einarsdottir for Power and Majesty (written by Tansy Rayner Roberts)

Legend award - Graham McNeill for Empire
Morningstar award - Pierre Pevel for The Cardinal's Blades
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet, Dave Senior and Laura Brett for the cover of Best Served Cold

Legend award - Andrzej Sapkowski for Blood of Elves


a Fantasy Reader All rights reserved © Blog Milk - Powered by Blogger