2014 David Gemmell Awards shortlist

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

The shortlist is out for the 2014 David Gemmell Awards.

Voting for the shortlists is open until the end of May, with the awards ceremony taking place at London's Magic Circle on the 13th June.

My picks are in bold and italic and my predictions for the winners are underlined.  What are yours? Are you interested in this award?


Legend Award
(Best novel)

The Daylight War by Peter V Brett (Harper Collins UK)
Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK)
The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (Gollancz)
A Memory of Light by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan (Tor/Forge)
War Master's Gate by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)


Morningstar Award
(Best debut novel)

The Garden of Stones by Mark T Barnes (47 North)
Headtaker by David Guymer (Black Library)
Promise of Blood by Brian McLellan (Orbit)
The Path of Anger by Antoine Rouaud (Gollancz)
The Grim Company by Luke Scull (Head of Zeus)


Ravenheart Award
(Best cover art)

Benjamin Carre for the cover of The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch
Jason Chan for the cover of Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper
Collins UK)
Cheol Joo Lee for the cover of Skarsnik by Guy Haley (Black Library)
Gene Mollica and Michael  Frost for the cover of Promise of Blood by Brian
McClellan (Orbit) 
Rhett Podersoo for the cover of She Who Waits by Daniel Polansky (Hodder)


Here are the past winners:

Legend award - Andrzej Sapkowski for Blood of Elves

Legend award - Graham McNeill for Empire
Morningstar award - Pierre Pevel for The Cardinal's Blades
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet, Dave Senior and Laura Brett for the cover of Best Served Cold

Legend award -Brandon Sanderson for The Way of Kings
Morningstar award - Darius Hinks for Warrior Priest
Ravensheart award - Olof Erla Einarsdottir for Power and Majesty (written by Tansy Rayner Roberts)

Legend award - Patrick Rothfuss for The Wise Man's Fear
Morningstar award - Helen Lowe for Heir of Night
Ravensheart award - Raymond Swanland for Blood of Aenarion (written by William King)

Legend award - Brent Weeks for The Blinding Knife
Morningstar award - John Gwynne for Malice
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet and Dave Senior for the cover of Red Country (written by Joe Abercrombie)

New map - Salyards' Veil of the Deserters

And the index got even bigger!

This time, it's the beautiful map of Jeff Salyards' series the Bloodsounder's Arc that started with Scourge of the Betrayer (my favorite Fantasy debut of 2012 - review here) and will be continued in July June with Veil of the Deserters, the first book to include this map.

UPDATE: Veil will be out in June! (Thanks to Jeff for pointing this out!) and I forgot to mention the artist behind the map, William McAusland.

You can also enjoy it in sepia:

New map - Elizabeth Bear's Eternal Sky

Friday, April 18, 2014

Another nice looking map for the index!

It's the work of Ellisa Mitchell, an illustrator who also worked on interior maps for David Weber and for the Wheel of Time Roleplaying Game.  The map is included in all three books of Elizabeth Bear's Eternal Sky series (Range of Ghosts, Shattered Pillars and Steles of the Sky).

Extracts - Hulick, Patrick and Salyards

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Three interesting extracts have surfaced on the web recently and they might give you a nice taste of upcoming novels. We're talking about Den Patrick's The Boy with  the Porcelain Blade, Sworn in Steel by Douglas Hulick (finally it will be in our hands soon) and Jeff Salyards' Veil of the Deserters (I have very high expectations for this one).



The Boy with the Porcelain Blade
Den Patrick
Chapters one, two, three and four


Sworn in Steel
Douglas Hulick
Chapters one and two


Veil of the Deserters
Jeff Salyards

A Fantasy Reader turns five!

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

It's time to celebrate!

A Fantasy Reader is now five years old!

Thanks you all for coming back again and again over the years!

Cheers to five more!

a Fantasy Reader All rights reserved © Blog Milk - Powered by Blogger