2015 Gemmell Legend awards - shortlist

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Voting for the 2015 David Gemmell Legend awards for Fantasy is now open for the shortlist. Here are the nominees in the three categories.

As usual, my picks are in bold and italic and my predictions for the winners are underlined. Will you vote and if so, what are you predictions?

The Legend category tend to be populated by nominees from the previous years but still, it's nice to have an award for that spectrum of the Fantasy niche. 


Legend Award
(Best novel)

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie (HarperCollins)
Valour by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence (HarperCollins)
Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)
The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks (Orbit)


Morningstar Award
(Best debut novel)

Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley (Angry Robot)
The Godless by Ben Peek (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
Age of Iron by Angus Watson (Orbit)


Ravenheart Award
(Best cover art)

Laura Brett for The Slow Regard of Silent Things (written by Patrick Rothfuss)

Mike Bryan for Half a King (written by Joe Abercrombie)

Jason Chan for Prince of Fools (written by Mark Lawrence)

Sam Green for Words of Radiance (written by Brandon Sanderson)

Jackie Morris for The Fool’s Assassin (writtern by Robin Hobb)


Previous winners:

Legend award - Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
Morningstar award - Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan
Ravensheart award -Jason Chan for the cover of Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Legend award - Brent Weeks for The Blinding Knife
Morningstar award - John Gwynne for Malice
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet and Dave Senior for the cover of Red Country (written by Joe Abercrombie)

Legend award - Patrick Rothfuss for The Wise Man's Fear
Morningstar award - Helen Lowe for Heir of Night
Ravensheart award - Raymond Swanland for Blood of Aenarion (written by William King)

Legend award -Brandon Sanderson for The Way of Kings
Morningstar award - Darius Hinks for Warrior Priest
Ravensheart award - Olof Erla Einarsdottir for Power and Majesty (written by Tansy Rayner Roberts)

Legend award - Graham McNeill for Empire
Morningstar award - Pierre Pevel for The Cardinal's Blades
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet, Dave Senior and Laura Brett for the cover of Best Served Cold

Legend award - Andrzej Sapkowski for Blood of Elves


Allan said...


Big fan of your blog.

Kameron Hurley has already published a trilogy. I would think that this would preclude her from being included in the best 'debut' novel category even though her previous novels are classified as science fiction.
Any thoughts???

Phil said...

Hi Allan!

You're right about Hurley's previous novels but the Morningstar category of the Gemmell awards is for the best debut in Fantasy fiction... so yes, since the Bel Dame Apocrypha series is categorized as Sci-fi, the book is considered as a Fantasy debut, as far as they are concerned.

I'm not sure if that's really the best idea to do include 'experienced' authors from other genres that way but I tend to believe that for this kind of awards it's all right, I'm not really punctilious.

By the way, have you read Mirror Empire?

a Fantasy Reader All rights reserved © Blog Milk - Powered by Blogger