On the AFR radar

Monday, December 22, 2014

Two new books will be added to my 2015 wishlist.  One is a debut by Peter Newman, for which Fantasy Faction revealed the cover last week and the other one was in the mail last week, courtesy of Orbit books.

***


First up is A Crown for Cold Silver by Alex Marshall.  I didn't know the author and it seems that 'Alex Marshall is a pseudonym for an acclaimed author who has previously published several novels in different genres'.  If we take a look at the blur...
FIVE VILLAINS. ONE LEGENDARY GENERAL. A FINAL QUEST FOR VENGEANCE. 
Twenty years ago, feared general Cobalt Zosia led her five villainous captains and mercenary army into battle, wrestling monsters and toppling an empire. When there were no more titles to win and no more worlds to conquer, she retired and gave up her legend to history. 
Now the peace she carved for herself has been shattered by the unprovoked slaughter of her village. Seeking bloody vengeance, Zosia heads for battle once more, but to find justice she must confront grudge-bearing enemies, once-loyal allies, and an unknown army that marches under a familiar banner. 
A CROWN FOR COLD SILVER is an outstanding epic fantasy featuring an unforgettable warrior.
... and at the back cover of the ARC where Orbit mentions that the book is for fans of George R.R. Martin, Joe Abercrombie and Patrick Rothfuss (weird choice, Rothfuss with those two....), the publisher seems pretty confident. Still, how many novels where publicized with these authors on the cover? Anyway, it will certainly draw the attention of Epic Fantasy readers as it did for me (when it releases on April 14th), even more so with an ARC cover like this:



***


The next one is The Vagrant by Peter Newman.  I don't have a big list of debut so far for 2015 but this is one of them.  The blurb is somewhat typical but you never know. Moreover, it has a hooded figure on the cover!!! Look for it May 1st from Harper Voyager.
The Vagrant is his name. He has no other. 
Friendless and alone he walks across a desolate war-torn landscape, carrying nothing but a kit-bag, a legendary sword and a baby. 
His purpose is to reach the Shining City, last bastion of the human race, and deliver the sword, the only weapon that may make a difference in the ongoing war. 
But the Shining City is very far away and the world is a very dangerous place.

2 comments:

Bob R Milne said...

A Crown for Cold Silver does sounds fantastic - I requested the ARC this weekend, so we'll see what happens.

Anonymous said...

totally looking forward to this one!

a Fantasy Reader All rights reserved © Blog Milk - Powered by Blogger