2014 David Gemmell Awards shortlist

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

The shortlist is out for the 2014 David Gemmell Awards.

Voting for the shortlists is open until the end of May, with the awards ceremony taking place at London's Magic Circle on the 13th June.

My picks are in bold and italic and my predictions for the winners are underlined.  What are yours? Are you interested in this award?


Legend Award
(Best novel)

The Daylight War by Peter V Brett (Harper Collins UK)
Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK)
The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (Gollancz)
A Memory of Light by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan (Tor/Forge)
War Master's Gate by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)


Morningstar Award
(Best debut novel)

The Garden of Stones by Mark T Barnes (47 North)
Headtaker by David Guymer (Black Library)
Promise of Blood by Brian McLellan (Orbit)
The Path of Anger by Antoine Rouaud (Gollancz)
The Grim Company by Luke Scull (Head of Zeus)


Ravenheart Award
(Best cover art)

Benjamin Carre for the cover of The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch
Jason Chan for the cover of Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper
Collins UK)
Cheol Joo Lee for the cover of Skarsnik by Guy Haley (Black Library)
Gene Mollica and Michael  Frost for the cover of Promise of Blood by Brian
McClellan (Orbit) 
Rhett Podersoo for the cover of She Who Waits by Daniel Polansky (Hodder)


Here are the past winners:

Legend award - Andrzej Sapkowski for Blood of Elves

Legend award - Graham McNeill for Empire
Morningstar award - Pierre Pevel for The Cardinal's Blades
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet, Dave Senior and Laura Brett for the cover of Best Served Cold

Legend award -Brandon Sanderson for The Way of Kings
Morningstar award - Darius Hinks for Warrior Priest
Ravensheart award - Olof Erla Einarsdottir for Power and Majesty (written by Tansy Rayner Roberts)

Legend award - Patrick Rothfuss for The Wise Man's Fear
Morningstar award - Helen Lowe for Heir of Night
Ravensheart award - Raymond Swanland for Blood of Aenarion (written by William King)

Legend award - Brent Weeks for The Blinding Knife
Morningstar award - John Gwynne for Malice
Ravensheart award - Didier Graffet and Dave Senior for the cover of Red Country (written by Joe Abercrombie)


Ghost said...

War Master's Gate by Adrian Tchaikovsky. It's past time that series get so love.

Phil said...

I still haven't picked up Tchaikovsky's series but I intend to eventually...

a Fantasy Reader All rights reserved © Blog Milk - Powered by Blogger